Blue Dover

One of my favorite things to do is to go hiking, or tramping as my new friends from New Zealand would say. Although I get to do a lot of walking in the metropolitan that is London, I miss being able to walk through nature and getting to the top and just seeing all the beauty and awe that the world holds. And this time while hiking, I got to see another country from across the English Channel.

This past weekend, I went on a day trip to Dover where I got to enjoy and explore this quaint little seaside town. I was lucky to get such a beautiful day with blue skies during the day and gentle breezes. I loved getting to listen to the water just lap along the shores of the beaches that were filled with stones. I loved hearing the water run over the rocks. It was all just so calming and a different pace of life from the hustle and bustle of London. Dover is a little seaside town but it was filled with history. The Dover Castle is known as the “Key to England” and it houses the WWII tunnels that Winston Churchill conducted meetings in. It was also an experience to step through the remaining aspects of St. James Church and imagine what was behind its walls. Who were the people and their stories? The White Cliffs of Dover were what drew me in though. I loved seeing the white cliffs made of chalk and walking over them to see all of Dover and past the water to see France. I actually learned that the English Channel is 22 miles wide to France. Seeing the Exmoor ponies of Dover was spectacular. I’m an animal fan and it was amazing to see them in their environment.

IMG_7429 IMG_7395 IMG_7411 IMG_7401

Aside from seeing amazing sights, I was also able to have my taste of new foods. I had my first traditional English breakfast; I’m a sucker for breakfast foods. I also got to enjoy Movenpick ice cream for the first time as well. The day after visiting Dover, I tried Nando’s for the first time, which was delicious. The nato was delightful.

Now after visiting Dover, I am excited for more adventures around England and Europe. I want to see more shows (definitely want to see The Lion King,Shakespeare in Love, and Once). I want to try more foods. I want to learn more. Being in Dover for that day really made me see that “Adventure is Out There!” and I intend to uncover it for myself.

Leave a comment